Road races: New Road World Champions crowned

With five minutes interval starts, nine age groups started at 9.00am for a 157km or a 97km race to crown the new World Champions 2014.
Major difficulties of the day were a 4.5km climb in the first part of the race, but especially the 7km climb halfway made groups break open.
Fastest time overall was for home rider Igor Kopse who won the 40-44 age group. Fastest woman on the long course was Ajda Opeka, also from Slovenia.

Men above 60 and women above 50 were sent on a shortcut for a 97km course.
German Ulrich Rottler and Italian Daniela Passalaqua scored fastest times in that distance.

The new male World Champions per age group are: Giuseppe di Salvo (ITA 19-34), Alfonso Derrico (ITA 35-39), Igor Kopse (SLO 40-44), Bruce Bird (CAN 45-49), Jean-Marc Chavanon (FRA 50-54), Robert Andre Massot (FRA 55-59), Ulrich Rottler (GER 60-64), Jan Karlsson (SWE 65-69) and Nicolo Mu (ITA 70+).

Female World Champions are: Laura Simenc (SLO 19-34), Ajda Opeka (SLO 35-39), Molly Van Houweling (USA 40-44), Kristin Falck (NOR 45-49), Daniela Passalaqua (ITA 50-54), Lynne Anderson (USA 55-59), Gerti Suberg (GER 60-64), Sidsel Grondalen (NOR 65+).

Time Trial: Danish Martin Toft Madsen and American Molly Van Houweling back in force

The UWCT Final Time Trial, which was the opening event, was very exciting with riders competing at a very high level. After the start of Austrian Irma Reinisch at 10:30, riders left every 30″ for their 18.6km flat time trial on an in and out loop.

Fastest female overall was American Molly Van Houweling who was already a World Champion in 2012. She beated Slovenian Danijela Svetik and South African Juanita Venter for first place.

The respective Women World Champions are Danijela Svetik (SLO – 19-34), Juanita Venter (RSA – 35-39), Molly Van Houweling (USA – 40-44), Trine Hansen (NOR – 45-49), Anny Hauglid (NOR – 50-54), Camille Deluca Flaherty (USA – 55-59), Marti Valks (HOL – 60-64) and Irmgard Reinisch (AUT – 65+)

The average speed of the winner was 43.8 km/h.

In the Men event, Martin Toft Madsen from Denmark defended his World title from last year with success, overtaking home riders Gregor Tekavec and Igor Kopse.

The respective Men World Champions are Martin Toft Madsen (DEN – 19-34), Morten Risbjerg Hansen (DEN – 35-39), Gregor Tekavec (SLO – 40-44), Stefano Nicoletti (ITA – 45-49), Robert Garwood (USA . 50-54), Michael Pfeil (GER – 55-59), Bert Bakker (HOL – 60-64), Jan Karlsson (SWE . 65-69) and Peter Trumheller (GER – 70+)

Average speed of the male winner was 49.6km/h.

Team Relay: Italy retains its crown

The team relay in the city center attracted 21 teams from 9 different nationalities for this non-official test event.

Teams from Slovenia, Australia, Poland, Italy, Norway, Russia, France, South Africa and Canada enjoyed taking part in this exciting side-event with a high entertainment level for spectators.

After a fast start of the Norwegian team, Slovenia took over the lead in the second relay, but the strong Italian team made a move to the front with time trial World Champion Stefano Nicoletti making a large gap.

Behind the Italian team, a group of 7 sprinted for second place. It was finally the Australian 1 team who won silver and Slovenia 4 got bronze.

Alois Vigl, Valentina Mabritto, Stefano Nicoletti and Andrea Nicosia were the four riders winning gold for Italy.

Italy topped the medal table with 17 medals, with host country Slovenia coming 2nd (13) and the United-States – winner of the three previous editions, 3rd (9). 21 countries won at least one medal, which is almost similar as it was in Trento last year (23).

The next edition of the UWCT Final will be staged in Denmark between 3 and 6 September 2015. Information can be found on

The Amy’s Gran Fondo, Australia, will be the opener of the UWCT 2015 season on 14 September 2014.